ACM logo

2003 Award Winners and Fellows

ACM proudly announces its 2003 Award Winners and Fellows

As part of ACM's ongoing effort to recognize technical excellence and outstanding service to the computing field, the ACM Award Subcommittees have deliberated and made their selections, and ACM is pleased to announce the winners of its 2003 awards. These award winners and Fellows represent a diverse group of leaders who have contributed significantly to the IT community. Some have led the way for others to follow with breakthrough achievements that have changed the world; others are just starting out and are among the best and the brightest of their generation. ACM is privileged to acknowledge all this year's winners for their stellar accomplishments.

A.M. Turing Award
Alan Kay, Hewlett-Packard Senior Fellow, HP Labs

"For pioneering many of the ideas at the root of contemporary object-oriented programming languages, leading the team that developed Smalltalk, and for fundamental contributions to personal computing."

Distinguished Service Award
Ruzena Bajcsy, University of California, Berkeley

"For outstanding contributions to computer science, information technology and societal systems as a researcher, educator and administrator."

Doctoral Dissertation Award
AnHai Doan, University of Illinois

"For his dissertation Learning to Map between Structured Representations of Data, nominated by the University of Washington."

Doctoral Dissertation Honorable Mention
Dina Katabi, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

"For her dissertation, Decoupling Congestion Control from the Bandwidth Allocation Policy and its Application to High Bandwidth-Delay Product Networks, nominated by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology."

Doctoral Dissertation Honorable Mention
Subhash Khot, Princeton University

"For his dissertation, New Techniques for Probabilistically Checkable Proofs and Inapproximability Results, nominated by Princeton University."

Grace Murray Hopper Award
Stephen W. Keckler, University of Texas at Austin

"For ground-breaking analysis of technology scaling for high-performance processors that sheds new light on the methods required to maintain performance improvement trends in computer architecture, and on the design implications for future high-performance processors and systems."

Paris Kanellakis Theory and Practice Award
Gary Miller, Carnegie Mellon University
Michael Rabin, Harvard University
Robert Solovay, University of California at Berkeley
Volker Strassen, University of Konstanz, Germany

"For the development of efficient randomized tests of primality, enabling the practical realization of public key cryptography and demonstrating the power of randomized algorithms."

Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award
Sartaj Sahni, University of Florida

"For outstanding contributions to computing education through inspired teaching, development of courses and curricula for distance education, and authoring significant textbooks in several areas including discrete mathematics, data structures, algorithms, and parallel and distributed computing."

Allen Newell Award
David Haussler, University of California at Santa Cruz

"For contributions bridging computer science and biology through research in computational learning theory, computational biology, and bioinformatics leading to major influences on the understanding of biological macromolecules and the investigation of the human genome."

Judea Pearl, University of California at Los Angeles

"For contributions to artificial intelligence and its applications, building a firm mathematical and theoretical foundation through ground-breaking work in heuristic search, reasoning under uncertainty, constraint processing, non-monotonic reasoning, and causal modeling."

Outstanding Contribution to ACM Award
Mark Scott Johnson

"For sustained, effective service during the past two decades through ACM activities in SIGPLAN, SIG Governing Board, and Council."

Software System Award
Stuart Feldman, IBM

"For Make -- there is probably no large software system in the world today that has not been processed by a version or offspring of Make."

Eugene L. Lawler Award for Humanitarian Contributions Within Computer Science and Informatics
Patrick Ball, Benetech

"For his leadership in the creation of open source software, Analyzer and Martus, that enable human rights groups to securely collect, safeguard, organize, disseminate, and conduct statistical analysis of human rights abuses. Martus and Analyzer have been used by NGO's in Afghanistan, Guatemala, Sierra Leone, Ghana, the Philippines, Sri Lanka and the United States. Dr. Ball demonstrates a vision of technology used in the service of humanity."

ACM Fellows

Rakesh Agrawal, IBM Almaden Research Center
Mostafa Ammar, Georgia Institute of Technology
Victor Bahl, Microsoft Research
Bonnie Berger, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Elisa Bertino, University of Milano
John Carroll, Pennsylvania State University
Richard DeMillo, Georgia Institute of Technology
Barbara J. Grosz, Harvard University
Brent Hailpern, IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center
Jiawei Han, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Mary Jean Harrold, Georgia Institute of Technology
Peter E. Hart, Ricoh Innovations, Inc.
Mark Horowitz, Stanford University
Paul Hudak, Yale University
H.V. Jagadish, University of Michigan
Anil Jain, Michigan State University
Ramesh Jain, Georgia Institute of Technology
Niraj Jha, Princeton University
Dexter Kozen, Cornell University
Yi-Bing Lin, National Chiao Tung University
Kathleen McKeown, Columbia University
Thomas P. Moran, IBM Almaden Research Center
Eugene W. Myers, University of California. Berkeley
Craig Partridge, BBN Technologies
Daniel A. Reed, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Stuart J. Russell, University of California, Berkeley
William H. Sanders, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Scott Shenker, University of California, Berkeley
Gurindar Sohi, University of Wisconsin
Cornelis J. van Rijsbergen, University of Glasgow

ACM/2003 Award Winners. Last Updated May 4, 2004 by Edwin Rodriguez


©2004 Association for Computing Machinery